Greek Gemetric shape

Within the constellation of Ursa Major, which can be seen throughout the northern hemisphere of Earth, there is a binary star system called Gliese 412. This place is 15.8 light years from Earth and is made up of two faint red dwarf stars. Unobserved by anyone on Earth, there are 7 planets which orbit them. Moving in from the outermost planet towards the centre of the solar system, these worlds are called: Calydon, Joune, Haldath, Hellas, Gilthane, Vargol and Pella. Calydon and Joune are gaseous planets, each about half the size of Saturn. Haldath, Vargol, Gilthane and Pella on the other hand are rocky worlds, with hot molten cores and are all lifeless places. These worlds vary in size from between a seventh the size of earth,  up to about three times its size.

The Planet Hellas
Hellas – Homeworld of the Ten Tribes

Of all the worlds in the Gliese 412 system, Hellas is by far the most interesting for a whole host of reasons, not least because it resides in the so called “Goldilocks Zone”, the area where conditions are perfect for liquid water and life to exist. It has a year almost exactly twice that of Earth and rotates on its axis in a clockwise direction, meaning the suns rise in the west and set in the east. On its surface are vast fresh water oceans, while three moons of varying sizes orbit at different latitudes, pulling the green oceans in such a way for there to be no discernible tides.

Surrounded by the vast “Sea of Ocean” lays one large landmass, with a multitude of small islands dotted around it. Everywhere life proliferates, on both the land and in the ocean. But what makes Hellas really special is the fact it nurtured ten tribes who, millions of years ago, forged an advanced civilisation, conquered space flight and journeyed among the stars to realise their dreams. With like minded species from other worlds, they formed a Federation of Five Planets and even had to defend the universe against invaders from another dimension, before they themselves destroyed their own world during a civil war.

Some managed to survive the holocaust and clung on to life as best they could…

The people of Hellas called themselves “Hellenes” and have also given themselves other  names, although the most frequently referenced are: “The Ten Tribes,” “The Ten” or the “Hellene Nations.” Each tribe was a proud people and were very different from their cousins, possessing talents, powers, knowledge and wisdom unique to them. However, as a people, they remained bound together by a mutual need and an unshakable trust in one another. Something the survivors still enjoy to this day.

Twin suns shien on devastated world
Andromeda looks out over a devastated world, close to the peak of Mount Parnassus

These “rebel” survivors live in comparative safety underground, in a city built millions of years ago to shelter them from the poisoned atmosphere of world above, and plan one day return to the surface  to tame the lands  which have been overrun with hostile mutations.

Unfortunately, that’s is not all the Ten Tribes also must face, for they have another battle if they are to realise their dreams. Many of the survivors out on the surface have themselves mutated into monsters and possess little regard for their ancient cousins, or the advanced culture they have. The ancient decaying capital of Belrous is now governed by a corrupt and primitive feudal society, so this city, once called “The City of Shining Walls”, has become a place of horror to its former builders, for the mutants living  there are cannibalistic.

Hellas, a benign home to the Ten Tribes since the Beginning, has now become hostile to their very existence.

Greek Gemetric shape